K-12 Private Christian School in Northwest Houston, TX

2019-2020 Eighth-Grade Awards

Eighth-grade students and families enjoyed a virtual end-of-the-year ceremony recently to mark the end of middle school and the beginning of a great new adventure in high school. Several administrators and teachers participated in the event. Craig Cleveland, Dean of Students, opened the ceremony with a welcome and opening prayer followed by Iva Nell Rhea, Middle School Principal. She briefly shared thoughts taken from II Corinthians 5:17 and Ecclesiastes 3:11 with the eighth-graders and families. Next each eighth-grader was recognized with a collage of pictures as Mrs. Rhea shared personal high points and appreciation from each student.

National Junior Honor Society sponsors Robyn Eberhard and Adrian Colchado inducted Makena Pham and J.D. Potts into the honor society and thanked all current members for their service during middle school.

Karen McGrath and Tim Kooiman, eighth-grade class sponsors, presented awards for academic achievement. The following students maintained an A average during quarters 1-3 of eighth grade: Keaton Barbisch, Jackson Broussard, Caden Clinton, Ethan John, Marko Micic, Makena Pham, Will Simcik and Brayden Stovall.

The award for highest GPA was shared by Marko Micic and Brayden Stovall.

Marsha Martin, Athletic Director, recognized Anna Smith and Owen Witschonke as recipients of the Sword and Shield Award for outstanding contributions to middle school athletics.

Kay Miller, representative of the local chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, presented the Youth Leadership Award to Sophia Swanton for her outstanding character and leadership during middle school. 

The ceremony closed with a blessing and prayer from Lubega Frankio, eighth-grade Bible teacher.